Welcome Frayed Dust Jackets of the World!

If a book has a faded and torn dust jacket, it is quite likely that that book has been enjoyed, past around, read and re-read quite a bit.  It has endured.  I feel as if my outward appearance, my “dustjacket”  is  looking a bit shopworn these days, but before I run out and sign up for a day spa’s worth of botox, scrubs, and miracle weight loss plans, I am going to take a moment to think about what it really means to reach “middle age”  — (and that marker keeps moving, doesn’t it?)  It means I have lived, I have experienced life, I have made mistakes, created art, and hopefully added a little something to the lives of people I’ve met.  Like a good book.  All the frayed dust jackets of the world have a unique life experience.  Let’s enjoy the discussion of good (and bad!) books and life’s experiences.  These are often intertwined.

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review

2 responses to “Welcome Frayed Dust Jackets of the World!

  1. Suzy

    Amen, sister!

  2. Barb

    If you’re in the process of reading Vanished Smile and start to lose interest, hang in there. I really enjoyed reading about the actual painting of the portrait and who was behind the theft.

Leave a Reply

